Hiding what I can

April 2, 2008

secret 6

Filed under: my Secrets — Tags: , , — kagenohikari @ 11:08 pm

I am a volunteer from the Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan’s Kristohanong Katilingban sa Pagpakabana – Social Involvement Program…

I just came back from Searsolin, Manresa (a Catholic, Jesuit, Filipino and Asian institution and an international training center dedicated to the formation of socially-committed and competent leaders in the struggle for poverty alleviation and holistic human development within the context of diverse cultural and religious traditions in Asia, Pacific and Africa) after being one of the staffs of the XU-AdC KKP-SIP Student Immersion 2008 (March 24 – April 1). Fourteen volunteers (all whom are from KKP-SIP Student Volunteer Formation Program) answered the call and immersed themselves in Sumilao, Bukidnon for 6 days (Afternoon of March 26 – Morning of March 31). Before the immersion proper, they had a Basic Orientation Seminar to prepare them (physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually) on what they should and should not do in the area. It was a live-in stay at Searsolin main dorm for 3 days and 2 nights (March 24 – Afternoon of March 26). After the experience, the whole program was closed with another live-in stay at Searsolin main dorm for 2 days and 1 night (March 31 – April 1) for their Processing and Evaluation.

Me, Ate Bem2x Conde (fellow volunteer), Ma’am Gail de la Rita (KKP-SIP SVFP Formation Program Officer), Ma’am Barbie Romanos (KKP-SIP SVFP FPO) and Sr Yen, ODN (KKP-SIP SVFP FPO) spent our time and resources to help the immersion and SOS (Summer of Service) participants understand their engagement with the world. The talks included “Faith that does Justice”, “National Situationer”, “Educational Situationer”, “The Youth of Today” and talks that every volunteer has heard about.

It was fun learning again. You know, hearing the same topics and messages from different people (or sometimes the same because KKP-SIP recruits only speakers who were once KKP-SIP volunteers/FPO’s) let me reflect and reevaluate its meaning and if I lived my life that way. (Whatever that way is). Sometimes, we need a daily reminder to keep track of things.

I regretted my absence from the program during the middle of my second semester (and also the many instances I failed to do my duty). This summer, I’ll become active again and help out. I didn’t join the SOS because I felt like I need rest (but I never told them this reason). I need to re-sort my mind, heart and body. That reminds me of Jesuit Education. You see, the Jesuits (priests who practice the Ignatian Principle) wants to convert the mind, heart, and feet. This is the physical form of competence, conscience and commitment. This passage from Micah 6:8 explains it the most: “Act Justly, Love Tenderly and Walk Humbly with your GOD.”
In other words, SERVICE.

When we were conceived in this earth, we were already embarked on a journey. A journey of knowing where and what is our purpose in life… the purpose GOD planned for us. It’s safe to say, I have a glimpse of where GOD wants me to be. (If you need help knowing your purpose, the Purpose Driven Life is a book that can help)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

